Get Involved

Like all major ice-drilling operations in the United States Antarctic Program, the Hercules Dome project is a community platform.

Drilling is expected to begin at the earliest in 2024. The long lead time means that there are many opportunities to get involved. One of our goals is to bring new people into the ice core research community. We will be launching a number of informational activities and virtual workshops over the next few months.

Subscribe to our mailing list to ensure you don't miss important announcements.

Informational Webinars

In preparation for the Community Workshop & Science Planning Meeting in May, there are two informational webinars on March 23 and March 31 that include Q&A sessions. The goal is to provide background on the project and answer questions that will enable interested participants to contribute more fully to the meeting in May. Both webinars will have the same content.

  • March 23 webinar (1:00 pm Pacific) registration is now closed
  • March 31 webinar (9:00 am Pacific) registration is now closed
More Information

Special Webinar Lecture

On April 15 at 5:00 pm London Time (12:00 pm Eastern, 9:00 am Pacific), we will have a special webinar lecture by Professor Eric Wolff of Cambridge University entitled “New frontiers in Antarctic ice core research”. Registration is required.

Community Workshop & Science Planning Meeting

The first community workshop and science planning meeting will take place on May 10-11, 2021, using a virtual platform. This is both a planning meeting and an open science meeting, which will provide an opportunity to hear about some of the latest Antarctic ice core research, and to begin to develop new collaborations.

Registration is now open! The registration deadline if you are interested in giving a talk is April 23. Registration will close on May 03.

More Information