Our Team

With support from NSF's Office of Polar Programs, University of Washington (Steig and Fudge), UC-Irvine (Aydin), University of New Hampshire (Twickler and Souney), and University of Minnesota Twin Cities (Roop) provide coordination and leadership for the Hercules Dome ice core project.

The team oversees the project and works with NSF and the Antarctic Support Contractor (ASC) on planning. The team also works with the U.S. Ice Drilling Program on field plans, drill development and modification, choice of drilling fluid, and other technical matters. Finally, the team coordinates (but does not dictate) the submission of independent science proposals to analyze the core (and related projects such as borehole logging) and is responsible for overseeing core processing, sample allocation, data sharing, and organizing science workshops and the broader dissemination of results. The result is a coordinated community effort with active collaboration that maximizes the total scientific return from all individual projects.

Proposals for funding of specific scientific projects will be submitted separately by individual investigators after the project is underway.

Additional information is available about Hercules Dome and the tentative project timeline.

Eric Steig
Chief Scientist
University of Washington
Lead PI and overall supervision of the project
steig@uw.edu
206-685-3715
Murat Aydin
University of California, Irvine
Scientific oversight of field drilling operations and core processing at NSF-ICF
maydin@uci.edu
949-824-5693
TJ Fudge
University of Washington
Scientific oversight of field drilling operations and core processing at NSF-ICF
tjfudge@uw.edu
206-543-0162
Heidi Roop
University of Minnesota Twin Cities
Research lead for communications and engagement
hroop@umn.edu
612-301-0093
Joe Souney
University of New Hampshire
Coordination of field logistics, core processing at NSF-ICF, and data management
joe.souney@unh.edu
603-862-0591
Mark Twickler
University of New Hampshire
Coordination of field logistics, core processing at NSF-ICF, and data management
mark.twickler@unh.edu
603-862-1991

Contact Form

Use the form below to send a question, comment, suggestion, or concern to the Hercules Dome project team. All fields are required.

2 + 0 =
Solve this simple math problem and enter the result. E.g. for 1+3, enter 4.